The Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Under the banner of Moving Dartmouth Forward, a Presidential Steering Committee was established to recommend actions to end high-risk and harmful behavior in the following three critical areas: sexual assault, high-risk drinking, and lack of inclusivity.

The group spent the summer of 2014 researching and crowdsourcing the best solutions for the way forward. Members examined the best practices of other universities; spoke with leading experts in each area of focus; and solicited ideas from student organizations, individual students, and other members of the Dartmouth family.

Every member of the community—especially students—must be part of the solution. To this end, the Presidential Steering Committee included representation from students, faculty, administrators, and alumni:

Barbara E. Will
A. and R. Newbury Professor of English, chair of the committee

Craig J. Sutton
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Ryan C. Hickox
Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Deborah A. Tyson
Senior Assistant Dean, Student Academic Support Services

Drew T. Galbraith
Senior Associate Athletics Director for Peak Performance

John A. Damianos '16

Frank M. Cunningham III '16

Kayla M. Wade '16

Susan M. Finegan '85
President, Association of Alumni

John B. Osborn '88